Most unusual ski destinations

digaaron

Hi all,

I'm a writer working on a story I thought you guys might enjoy discussing—the world's most unusual ski destinations. "Unusual" here could also mean "unexpected." I'm including ski areas in Losotho, North Korea, Lebanon, etc. Probably also talk about Mauna Kea in Hawaii, Afghanistan, and a ski area in Sweden above the Arctic Circle. Might include that indoor one in Dubai, but I kind of hate to even talk about indoor skiing. It hurts my soul.

I'm not a big web forum person, but I've enjoyed this one over the years as a lurker and for research. I thought the expert crew here might have some suggestions.

Btw, was scanning the archives and read the discussion about smallest ski hills. I'm from Minneapolis originally (live in Missoula now), have skied Buck Hill plenty, and am a huge Replacements/Husker Du/Big Star guy. Was fun to see there are some other diehard fans on the board.

Anybody have any ideas for unusual ski destination?

You might start by browsing the Google Earth kml file of ~1,880 ski areas around the world which I created with some assistance from a couple of FTO contributors: http://www.firsttracksonline.com/ski-sn ... downloads/

The pins are in the ski terrain, not the resort towns. Zooming in and using Google Earth features you can see steepness, slope aspects and altitude range of the ski terrain. In high resolution you can generally see buildings and lifts as well.

During the process or researching the Google Earth project, we found http://www.skiresort.info/ to be the most useful source of basic information about ski resorts, large, small and obscure, around the world.

Admin":3eqw4pg7 said:
And FWIW, Crocker failed to mention that he's skied Antarctica.
I'll have to think about putting SkiMap pins down there. :-k

FYI the annual Ice Axe Antarctic cruises are still happening. Unfortunately what cost us the bargain price of $7,600pp in 2011 will be over $11,000pp in 2016.

digaaron":1v9czyxl said: