Getting a job as a patroller

Hello everyone! I've been reading these forums for a while now and have finally decided to post. Here goes:

I'm looking for input on getting a job as a patroller... On a snowboard. In Colorado. I know that Keystone hires boarders, but I don't know of anywhere else. I'd be totally happy to work at Keystone, but I was just wondering if there is anywhere else I can/should apply.

I'd also be interested to know what people think my chances are of getting hired with only 2 seasons under my belt. I got in about 35 days last season and hope to get in 50+ this season. I can ride everything in most resorts, but its pretty apparent I'm new to boarding on anything harder than a single black. I'm also not so good at the bumps yet. Hopefully I'll get a lot better this season though.

As far as medical experience, I'm an ER nurse. I imagine that my medical knowledge is a bit ahead of the pack, and hopefully enough to overcome the 2 obstacles above.

First of all, welcome! Glad that you've decided to post.

To address your specific questions, the answers will vary depending on whether a mountain's patrol is pro-only or a mix of pros and volunteers, and whether or not it's a National Ski Patrol System (NSPS)-affiliated patrol.

That said, a patroller needs to be capable of running a sled down anything accessible by lift at the resort. Period. There's no getting around that fact for a regular patroller.

That said, many NSPS-affiliated patrols have what's known as an Auxiliary Patroller position, which is perfect for someone with your medical background. A patrol may leverage an Auxiliary Patroller's background and experience while that patroller gets their skiing/riding capabilities up to snuff for a win-win situation. The Auxiliary Patroller generally has all of the same rights and responsibilities as a regular patroller, except that they don't run sleds.