Las Lenas Backcountry

phatpow

Hello! Nice Forum!

I am an expert, backcountry enthusiast from Alaska.
I am headed down to Las Lenas and to Bariloche in a couple of weeks.
I rode Bariloche as part of a long trip around S.A. last summer, this year I am bringing my own equipment for a more focused snowboard trip.

I have about a week and a half in each location. I already have a good idea of where to go in Bariloche for some backcountry excursions, but I have had a lot of trouble finding any legitamate information about Las Lenas. (it seems that everyone online wants to sell a trip package without offering any usefull information).

Lifts are fun and all, but I was hoping to ride mostly off piste, I was wondering what the Las Lenas area has to offer in this department, I have read about cat trips and I would like to know where they go so that I can hike to theses places. Are there any huts in the Las Lenas area?

Also: what is the lodging like near LL? is it all resorts? are there any places to stay for less than $20 USD a night?

Thanks!

phatpow":297oz35b said:
I have had a lot of trouble finding any legitamate information about Las Lenas. (it seems that everyone online wants to sell a trip package without offering any usefull information).

Ironically, we have a Las Lenas story in the can that will publish in the coming days. The author, Tony Crocker, is a regular here and will certainly respond to your specific questions shortly.

I've been to Las Lenas...the resort is huge and the inbounds terrain is a tiny fraction of what is available. Alot of the BC stuff could be more accurately referred to as side or slack country.

Look for a line you want to ski, ride a lift, take a short hike, ski it. The resort is very isolated, and you can easily get lost OB. So, if you want to hike way out in the BC, you might actually consider a guide for a day to get your bearings.