Demo Day Debriefing

Pajarito-Bred

Saturday I spent the day at Powderhorn, and took advantage of the demo day test skis of K2 and Salomon.
Right now I've got Salomon Pilot 10's, about 4 years old, those replaced my old original yellow X-screams, which were my first shaped ski, and the last time I'd demoe'd anything.

What! I have to give up ANOTHER 10 cm? The longest is a 180? Are they crazy!? First I get knocked down to 185, and now they want me on a 174? Hey I'm not a rank beginner, i deserve a ski as tall as I am! Maybe I have residual scars from skiing on bright orange 185cm Olin Mark IV Comps in HS and college, when all my friends were bombing down the bumps on 207cm Rossi's.

But I got on a pair of K2 Apache Recon's and was blown away, the same as I'd been the first time I traded in my long straight Volants for the X-screams-- the Apache Recons were incredibly stable at speed, quick (or not, in turns-- it seemed to like long, run-wide arcs just as well)
I got back on the Pilot's for a couple of runs, and had to check the bases to see if I'd somehow neglected to tune them- they just knocked be back a couple of rungs on the exhilaration scale compared to the Recon's

I also tried the K2 apache cross fires, narrower, what in the old days we used to call a "slalom" ski, they were very quick, and liked speed also, but I don't think they'd be the best choice in soft snow or powder, sadly unavailable for Saturday's test.

I also tried the Salomon Fury, but it skiied closer to my Pilots than the K'2's. I'd really like to demo some more, Vokyls (man, how the heck do you SPELL that?) Atomics, and even Dynastars.

I've been scanning the gear guides, but I had no idea I'd fallen so far behind the new gear so quickly. I may have to break out the plastic and bite on some new boards sooner rather than later. Better go put some nickels away in the cookie jar......

Anybody else out there have any revealing /assumption-shattering demo experiences?