good intermmediate all mountains - any suggestions?

aaron12345

I'm 5' 7, 16, and 130 lbs. I went to the local ski shop which recommended k2 escape 5500 and volkl energy 380. I'm looking for something that will mostly be used on the east coast, but won't kill my dreams of getting out west sometime within the next few years. Also I'm looking for something lowishly priced, but that I won't grow out of in skill level anytime soon (I can do pretty much all the double blacks in VA and West VA, but that's not saying much). I was also recommended the Nordica Beast 10 boots (I tried them on and they fit about perfect). I'm looking at alot of last years models to save a few buck (seems like a good idea, what do you think?). As this is my first time buying and I've been using my freinds old boots and rentals for the past 5 years I don't have much experience but I'm tired of rentals sub par performance and having to fly past the signs on the slopes that say no rentals. What other models from other companies are comprable that I should consider? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

aaron12345":2q4ivn77 said:
I'm 5' 7, 16, and 130 lbs.

Except for the 16 part, we're of similar specs. I've got just a few years on you. (Well, to be honest, more years than I'd care to admit. Aah, to be 16 again, skiing first chair to last chair with nary a rest break in between. Oh, well, back to the reality of my aging bones.)

I'm looking for something that will mostly be used on the east coast, but won't kill my dreams of getting out west sometime within the next few years. Also I'm looking for something lowishly priced, but that I won't grow out of in skill level anytime soon (I can do pretty much all the double blacks in VA and West VA, but that's not saying much).