utah refugee needs help selecting tahoe season pass

hayduke

I will be in tahoe this winter, and i could use some suggestions on a season pass. i have been considering the kirkwood 6wood and the alpine mid-week for very good value. i could live near south tahoe or north tahoe.the heavenly peak pass is also tempting just in case i could spend a month in colorado.
In utah i like off piste deep powder, but im not an expert, and i avoid the very steep and the very rocky narrow chutes. im also twitchy on big ice bumps.
so, kirkwood, alpine, heavenly, or maybe somewhere else? i havent ever been to any of them, and i love both alta and snowbird. thanks for your advice.

I ski Tahoe 35-48 days out of the season (a non-resident/12k miles). Like yourself I, “like off piste deep . . . not an expert . . . twitchy . . .” I ski hard for the full day usually solo, 3 days a week regardless of the conditions. In addition, I like to ski through (around :lol: )the trees. I’m 55.

The best bang for MY buck, which offers the best variety of terrain and flexibility in dealing with weather/snow/resort delays/road conditions is the: Northstar/Sierra Double Whammy & Heavenly limited season passes. That’s two season-passes for 3 resorts. Northstar is on the north side of the Lake and Heavenly and Sierra is on the south side. Northstar and Heavenly are modern large resorts with many fast lifts.

I try to ski Alpine and Kirkwood-especially 2-3 times a season only when the conditions are prime. Look for discounts tickets and on some days your season pass will get you a good discount. A lot of the locals and the hardcore will tell you that Alpine and Kirkwood are the best. I would agree, but weather; snow, delay in opening runs and road conditions make these places problematic. Alpine has the best gathering of expert local skiers and the terrain to match, I’ve ever seen. Kirkwood on a day with fresh powder is to die for. Skiing there can be god-like, call me blasphemous.