Twelve Ski Areas Recognized With Annual Safety Awards

Lakewood, CO – The National Ski Areas Association (NSAA) on Friday honored 12 member resorts with its annual National Ski Area Safety Awards. Each season the awards recognize those resorts that have done an outstanding job of educating employees and guests about skiing and snowboarding responsibly.nThe 2009-10 winners are:

Best Safety Week Program (tie)

  • Vail Mountain, Colo.
  • Stratton Mountain Resort, Vt.

Best Helmet Safety Program

  • Heavenly, Calif.
  • The Coconut Crusher

Best Terrain Park Safety Program

  • Loon Mountain, N.H.

Best Use of Web /Social Media

  • Mt. Bachelor, Ore.

Best Employee Involvement & Education

  • Aspen Snowmass, Colo.

Best Chairlift Safety Program

  • The Canyons, Utah

Best Community Outreach

  • Seven Springs Ski Area, Pa.

Best Avalanche Safety Program

  • Bridger Bowl Ski Area, Mont.

Best Safety Theme/Quote

  • Mountain Creek, N.J. – “Stupid Hurts”

Best Overall Safety Program
(Up to 250,000 visits)

  • Arizona Snowbowl, Ariz.

Best Overall Safety Program
(250,000 or More Visits)

  • Beaver Creek Resort, Colo.

Each of the winning programs will be highlighted in the August issue of the NSAA Journal.

Leave a Reply