Shiffrin Boosts Slalom Lead in Moscow

Moscow, Russia – Eagle, Colo. teenager Mikaela Shiffrin boosted her Audi FIS Alpine World Cup slalom lead to 33 points over top challenger Tina Maze of Slovenia with a third place finish in the Moscow City Event in Russia on Tuesday night. World Cup overall and slalom leader Marcel Hirscher of Austria captured the men’s victory while German Lena Duerr captured her first World Cup with the women’s win.

“I’m not really thinking about the slalom title chase, but it feels good to get some extra points,” Shiffrin said after Maze was eliminated from the finals on Tuesday night. “I’m feeling really confident in my skiing. My goal for today was just to have fun and rip – the points were a bonus.”

The ramp constructed to host the Moscow City Event in the Russian capital on Tuesday night. (photo: FIS Alpine)
The ramp constructed to host the Moscow City Event in the Russian capital on Tuesday night. (photo: FIS Alpine)

The night head-to-head parallel slalom, the final competition before the FIS Alpine Ski World Championships open on Feb. 4 in Schladming, Austria, was held on a 200 foot tall man-made structure in Moscow’s All-Russian Exhibition Center.

“It’s always tough because you’re aware that someone is right next to you – you’re wondering if you’re ahead or if you’re behind – wondering where they are and hoping you’re in the lead,” Shiffrin added. “Kirchgasser was really tough but I knew that she was going to be good. Lena Duerr was really fun to race, she just came up and started ripping and she took that to the win.”

RELATED STORY:  Hirscher Wins Levi Slalom

Americans Lindsey Vonn, Julia Mancuso and Ted Ligety opted not to compete in order to focus on World Championships.

Audi FIS Alpine World Cup
Moscow, Russia – Jan. 27, 2013


Rank Bib Name Year Nation
 1  11 DUERR Lena 1991 GER
 2  4 VELEZ ZUZULOVA Veronika 1984 SVK
 3  2 SHIFFRIN Mikaela 1995 USA
 4  8 HOLDENER Wendy 1993 SUI
 5  7 KIRCHGASSER Michaela 1985 AUT
 5  5 POUTIAINEN Tanja 1980 FIN
 5  3 HANSDOTTER Frida 1985 SWE
 5  1 MAZE Tina 1983 SLO
 9  16 SOROKINA Anna 1990 RUS
 9  15 PHELAN Brittany 1991 CAN
 9  14 THALMANN Carmen 1989 AUT
 9  13 DAUM Alexandra 1986 AUT
 9  12 HOSP Nicole 1983 AUT
 9  10 SCHILD Bernadette 1990 AUT
 9  9 GEIGER Christina 1990 GER


Rank Bib Name Year Nation
 1  1 HIRSCHER Marcel 1989 AUT
 2  3 MYHRER Andre 1983 SWE
 3  4 KOSTELIC Ivica 1979 CRO
 4  2 NEUREUTHER Felix 1984 GER
 5  12 CHODOUNSKY David 1984 USA
 5  10 GRANGE Jean-Baptiste 1984 FRA
 5  8 BYGGMARK Jens 1985 SWE
 5  6 DOPFER Fritz 1987 GER
 9  16 JOHANSEN Truls 1989 NOR
 9  15 FELLER Manuel 1992 AUT
 9  14 HAUGEN Leif Kristian 1987 NOR
 9  13 KHOROSHILOV Alexander 1984 RUS
 9  11 HOERL Wolfgang 1983 AUT
 9  9 HERBST Reinfried 1978 AUT
 9  7 GROSS Stefano 1986 ITA
 9  5 MOELGG Manfred 1982 ITA
RELATED STORY:  Shiffrin Wins Opening World Cup Slalom


Leave a Reply