(file photo: Chad Buchholz / FIS)

Canada Names Freestyle Ski Team for 2015-16

Vancouver (BC), Canada – The Canadian Freestyle Ski Team last week unveiled its roster of athletes competing in aerials, moguls, halfpipe and slopestyle for the 2015-16 season.

This winter will include two FIS Freestyle Ski World Cups in Canada for mogul athletes, on January 23 in Saint Côme, Quebec and January 30 in Calgary, Alberta, as well as X Games Aspen (January 26-31) and the return of the X Games Europe held on February 24-28 in Oslo, Norway.

(file photo: Chad Buchholz / FIS)
(file photo: Chad Buchholz / FIS)

“We are excited to start the new winter season with an impressive mixture of youth and veteran talent on our team,” said Bruce Robinson, CEO of the Canadian Freestyle Ski Association. “Our athletes were given the best preparation possible thanks to our coaches and technical staff. We pride ourselves on being the best freestyle team in the world and this will be an important time for us as we continue our preparation for the 2018 Winter Olympic Games in Pyeongchang, South Korea.”

RELATED STORY:  Killington Ready for World Cup Ski Racing

The following athletes have been named to the 2015-16 Canadian World Cup Team.

Men: JC André (Montreal, QC), Travis Gerrits (Milton, ON), Olivier Rochon (Gatineau, QC)

Women: Mélissa Corbo (Blainville, QC)

Men: Kris Atkinson (Calgary, AB), Noah Bowman (Calgary, AB), Simon d’Artois(Whistler, BC), Justin Dorey (Vernon, BC), Brendan MacKay (Calgary, AB), Matt Margetts (Penticton, BC), Mike Riddle (Sherwood Park, AB)

Women: Roz Groenewoud (Calgary, AB), Keltie Hansen (Edmonton, AB), Cassie Sharpe (Comox, BC), Megan Warrener (Sylvan Lake, AB)

Men: P.-O. Gagné (Montreal, QC), Marc-Antoine Gagnon (Terrebonne, QC) Mikaël Kingsbury (Deux-Montagnes, QC), Simon Lemieux (Repentigny, QC), Philippe Marquis (Quebec City, QC), Simon Pouliot-Cavanagh (Quebec City, QC), Luke Ulsifer(Calgary, AB)

Women: Chloé Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC), Justine Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC), Maxime Dufour-Lapointe (Montreal, QC), Alex-Anne Gagnon (Terrebonne, QC),Andi Naude (Penticton, BC), Audrey Robichaud (Quebec City, QC)

Men: Alex Beaulieu-Marchand (Quebec City, QC), Alex Bellemare (Saint-Boniface, QC), Teal Harle (Campbell River, BC), Evan McEachran (Oakville, ON)

RELATED STORY:  Knee Injury Sidelines Lindsey Vonn

Women: Nikki Blackall (Barrie, ON), Dara Howell (Huntsville, ON), Kim Lamarre (Lac-Beauport, QC), Yuki Tsubota (Whistler, BC), Kaya Turski (Montreal, QC), Anouk Purnelle-Faniel (Quebec City, QC)

Leave a Reply